Kershaw wins his second NL Cy Young Award

Los Angeles Dodgers LHP Clayton Kershaw is this year’s winner of the National League Cy Young Award. He received 29 of 30 first-place votes.

Kershaw went 16-9 and led the NL in ERA (1.83), strikeouts (232), WHIP (0.915) and shutouts (2). His ERA was the lowest by any starting pitcher since Boston Red Sox RHP Pedro Martinez in 2000 (1.74), the lowest by any NL starter since Atlanta Braves RHP Greg Maddux in 1995 (1.63), and the lowest by a lefty starter since LA’s Sandy Koufax in 1966 (1.73).

Kershaw won the NL Cy Young Award once before, in 2011; he finished second in the voting last year.

Of the six finalists for the Cy Young awards this year, only Kershaw pitched in the Midwest League. He went 7-5 with a 2.77 ERA and 134 strikeouts in 97.1 IP for the 2007 Great Lakes Loons and was named the league’s prospect of the year.

Detroit Tigers RHP Max Scherzer won the American League Cy Young Award after going 21-3 with a 2.90 ERA, 240 strikeouts and a 0.970 WHIP.

This entry was posted in Great Lakes Loons, Midwest League. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s