Clinton wins the West, advances to MWL Championship Series

The Clinton LumberKings celebrate after winning the Western Division championship Monday. (Photo courtesy of the Clinton LumberKings)

The Clinton LumberKings partied like it was 2016 on Monday. By this time next week, they hope to party like it’s 1991.

Just as they did in 2016, the LumberKings beat the Cedar Rapids Kernels in Game 3 of the Western Division finals to advance to the Midwest League Championship Series. That was the last time Clinton reached the league finals, a series the team hasn’t won since 1991. (That’s the longest championship drought in the MWL.)

The LumberKings got off to an early 3-0 lead by plating three runs in the top of the 1st inning. They doubled their run output by the end of the game, winning 6-2.

Kameron Misner scored three of Clinton’s runs, despite not reaching base on a hit. Bubba Hollins had two hits and two RBI. Will Banfield and Evan Edwards each had two hits and one RBI. LumberKings leadoff man Christopher Torres had two hits, two walks and a stolen base.

Wander Javier had three hits for the Kernels. Gabe Snyder and Tyler Webb each drove in a Cedar Rapids run.

The LumberKings will face the Eastern Division champion South Bend Cubs in the MWL finals, beginning Wednesday at Four Winds Field. South Bend will host the first two games before the best-of-five series shifts to Clinton for the rest.

This entry was posted in 2019 Playoffs, Cedar Rapids Kernels, Clinton LumberKings, Midwest League, South Bend Silver Hawks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s