Hot Rods announce first two team Hall-of-Fame members

Earlier this year, the Bowling Green Hot Rods announced creation of a team Hall of Fame as a way to celebrate their 10th season. This week the team announced that the first two inductees will be LHP Matt Moore and outfielder Kevin Kiermaier.

Moore pitched for the Hot Rods in 2009, which was the team’s inaugural season and its only year as part of the South Atlantic League. In fact, he started the team’s first game and was its first former player to reach the major leagues and to appear in a MLB All-Star Game. Currently a pitcher for the Texas Rangers, Moore went 8-5 with a 3.15 ERA and 176 strikeouts in 123 innings/26 starts for the Hot Rods.

Kiermaier, a two-time Gold Glove winner at the major-league level, played for Bowling Green in 2011. He batted .241 with four homers, eight triples, 11 doubles, 39 runs batted in, and 27 stolen bases in 120 games with the Hot Rods. He made his MLB debut for the Tampa Bay Rays in 2013 and still plays for the team, which is the parent club of the Hot Rods.

This entry was posted in Bowling Green Hot Rods, Gold Glove Awards, Midwest League, South Atlantic League. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s