Simmons misses HOF election by one vote

Former pitcher Jack Morris signs his autograph during a 2014 game at South Bend’s Four Winds Field. He was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame on Sunday. (Photo by Craig Wieczorkiewicz/The Midwest League Traveler)

The Modern Baseball Era Committee elected former pitcher Jack Morris and former shortstop Alan Trammell for induction into the National Baseball Hall of Fame next year.

Candidates needed votes from 12 of the 16 committee members to be selected for induction into the Hall of Fame on July 29, 2018. Morris received 14 votes and Trammell got 13 votes. Former catcher Ted Simmons — a Midwest League alumnus — fell one vote short of election.

Simmons batted .269 with 4 HR and 34 RBI in 47 games with the 1967 Cedar Rapids Cardinals. He went on to be an eight-time All-Star with the St. Louis Cardinals and the Milwaukee Brewers before ending his 21-year playing career with the Atlanta Braves.

This entry was posted in Baseball Hall of Fame, Cedar Rapids Kernels, Midwest League, South Bend Silver Hawks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s