2016 Midwest League All-Star Game starters announced

2016 MWL ASG logo

The rosters for the 2016 Midwest League All-Star Game were announced Tuesday. The Wisconsin Timber Rattlers have the most players selected (eight — three starters, five reserves), followed by the South Bend Cubs (six — four starters, two reserves) and the Bowling Green Hot Rods (six — one starter, five reserves).

First pitch is scheduled for 7:05 p.m. CT Tuesday, June 21, at Veterans Memorial Stadium, home of the Cedar Rapids Kernels. A home run derby will precede the All-Star Game, from 5:30 to 6:30 p.m. Gates open at 5 p.m.

The Eastern Division starters (and their Midwest League statistics through Monday’s games) are:

Lake County Captains C Francisco Mejia (.313 BA, 1 HR, 33 RBI in 44 games)

Lansing Lugnuts 1B Juan Kelly (.257 BA, 3 HR, 26 RBI in 49 games)

South Bend Cubs 2B Andrew Ely (.292 BA, 2 HR, 12 RBI, 6 SB in 43 games)

South Bend Cubs 3B Jesse Hodges (.294 BA, 0 HR, 10 RBI in 33 games)

Bowling Green Hot Rods SS Jake Cronenworth (.342 BA, 1 HR, 25 RBI, 7 SB in 47 games)

Fort Wayne TinCaps OF Michael Gettys (.295 BA, 2 HR, 23 RBI, 22 SB in 56 games)

South Bend OF Eloy Jimenez (.316 BA, 8 HR, 36 RBI in 53 games)

South Bend OF Donnie Dewees (.281 BA, 2 HR, 36 RBI, 12 SB in 53 games)

West Michigan Whitecaps DH Will Maddox (.342 BA, 0 HR, 18 RBI, 10 SB in 48 games)

The Western Division starters (and their Midwest League statistics through Monday’s games) are:

Wisconsin Timber Rattlers C Max McDowell (.260 BA, 0 HR, 6 RBI, 8 SB in 41 games)

Clinton LumberKings 1B Dalton Kelly (.312 BA, 2 HR, 19 RBI, 10 SB in 52 games)

Cedar Rapids Kernels 2B Luis Arraez (.317 BA, 2 HR, 15 RBI in 40 games)

Wisconsin Timber Rattlers 3B Jake Gatewood (.243 BA, 7 HR, 25 RBI in 54 games)

Wisconsin Timber Rattlers SS Isan Diaz (.223 BA, 5 HR, 25 RBI in 54 games)

Cedar Rapids Kernels OF LaMonte Wade (.318 BA, 4 HR, 27 RBI in 48 games)

Kane County Cougars OF Zach Nehrir (.260 BA, 1 HR, 17 RBI in 42 games)

Quad Cities River Bandits OF Kyle Tucker (.306 BA, 1 HR, 31 RBI, 23 SB in 53 games)

Kane County Cougars DH Trevor Mitsui (.286 BA, 2 HR, 36 RBI in 54 games)

The game’s starting pitchers will be announced at a later date. I will post a list of the reserves for both teams later today.

The host Cedar Rapids Kernels will provide the coaching staff for the Western Division team, and the reigning MWL-champion West Michigan Whitecaps will provide the coaching staff for the Eastern Division team.

This entry was posted in 2016 All-Star Game, Bowling Green Hot Rods, Cedar Rapids Kernels, Clinton LumberKings, Fort Wayne TinCaps, Kane County Cougars, Lake County Captains, Lansing Lugnuts, Midwest League, Quad Cities River Bandits, South Bend Silver Hawks, West Michigan Whitecaps, Wisconsin Timber Rattlers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s