Midwest League All-Star Game rosters released

2015 MWL ASG logo

The rosters for the 2015 Midwest League All-Star Game were released today. Three teams — the Quad Cities River Bandits, the South Bend Cubs and the Lansing Lugnuts — have three players named to the starting lineups, and the Bowling Green Hot Rods have the most overall players (eight).

The game will be played at 7 p.m. Tuesday, June 23, at Peoria’s Dozer Park. The Home Run Derby will begin at 5:30 p.m. with players batting in center field, aiming for the box seats.

The Western Division starters (and their Midwest League statistics through yesterday’s games) are:

Quad Cities River Bandits C Jacob Nottingham (.338, 8 HR, 33 RBI in 41 games)

Cedar Rapids Kernels 1B Trey Vavra (.346, 6 HR, 28 RBI in 42 games)

Quad Cities River Bandits 2B Mott Hyde (.297, 1 HR, 18 RBI in 46 games)**

Quad Cities River Bandits 3B Nick Tanielu (.302, 1 HR, 25 RBI in 43 games)

Peoria Chiefs SS Oscar Mercado (.246, 1 HR, 13 RBI, 22 SB in 47 games)

Burlington Bees OF Caleb Adams (.311, 1 HR, 20 RBI, 6 SB in 49 games)

Clinton LumberKings OF Estarlyn Morales (.257, 3 HR, 28 RBI, 9 SB in 46 games)

Kane County Cougars OF Colin Bray (.254, 1 HR, 13 RBI, 7 SB in 50 games)

Beloit Snappers DH Sandber Pimentel (.268, 9 HR, 25 RBI in 48 games)

Reserve players for the Western Division are Wisconsin Timber Rattlers catcher Carlos Leal****, Burlington Bees outfielder Natanael Delgado, Kane County Cougars infielders Marty Herum and Cody Regis, Burlington Bees infielders Andrew Daniel and Jake Yacinich, and Beloit Snappers infielder Yairo Munoz.

Western Division pitchers are Beloit Snappers RHP Brett Graves, Burlington Bees RHP Jeremy Rhoades, Cedar Rapids Kernels LHP Cam Booser and right-handers Jared Wilson, Felix Jorge and Trevor Hildenberger, Clinton LumberKings RHP Lukas Schiraldi, Kane County Cougars right-handers Cody Geyer, Ethan Elias and Markus Solbach, Peoria Chiefs LHP Austin Gomber and right-handers Daniel Poncedeleon and Luis Perdomo, Quad Cities River Bandits RHP Austin Chrismon***, and Wisconsin Timber Rattlers RHP Cy Sneed.

The Eastern Division starters (and their Midwest League statistics through yesterday’s games) are:

South Bend Cubs C Cael Brockmeyer (.287, 3 HR, 24 RBI in 44 games)

Lansing Lugnuts 1B Rowdy Tellez (.288, 6 HR, 41 RBI in 52 games)

Bowling Green Hot Rods 2B Jace Conrad (.293, 9 HR, 25 RBI, 16 SB in 45 games)

West Michigan Whitecaps 3B Zach Shepherd (.263, 2 HR, 31 RBI in 51 games)

South Bend Cubs SS Gleyber Torres (.318, 0 HR, 30 RBI, 8 SB in 47 games)

Lansing Lugnuts OF Anthony Alford (.305, 0 HR, 11 RBI, 9 SB in 36 games)

South Bend Cubs OF Charcer Burks (.282, 0 HR, 20 RBI, 14 SB in 48 games)

West Michigan Whitecaps OF Michael Gerber (.369, 4 HR, 34 RBI, 13 SB in 53 games)

Lansing Lugnuts DH Ryan McBroom (.307, 2 HR, 31 RBI in 48 games)

Reserve players for the Eastern Division are Bowling Green Hot Rods catcher Nick Ciuffo, Fort Wayne TinCaps outfielder Nick Torres, Bowling Green Hot Rods infielders Casey Gillaspie, Grant Kay and Coty Blanchard*, Great Lakes Loons infielder Michael Ahmed, and Lake County Captains infielder Claudio Bautista.

Eastern Division pitchers are Bowling Green Hot Rods right-handers Brent Honeywell, Hunter Wood and Chris Pike, Dayton Dragons right-handers Brian Hunter, Tejay Antone and Tyler Mahle, Fort Wayne TinCaps LHP Thomas Dorminy, Great Lakes Loons right-handers J.D. Underwood and Grant Holmes, Lake County Captains LHP Justus Sheffield, Lansing Lugnuts LHP Shane Dawson, South Bend Cubs right-handers James Farris and Jeremy Null, and West Michigan Whitecaps right-handers Joe Jimenez and Spencer Turnbull.

The Western Division will be coached by the staff of the Peoria Chiefs, who are hosting the game. The Eastern Division will be coached by the staff of the Lake County Captains, who lost to the Kane County Cougars in last year’s Midwest League Championship Series.

The game’s starting pitchers will be announced at a later date.

*Blanchard is not eligible to play in the All-Star Game after receiving a 50-game suspension Tuesday after testing positive for a banned substance. Lansing Lugnuts infielder Richard Urena has been added to the Eastern Division roster to replace him.

**Beloit Snappers infielder Trent Gilbert was added to the Western Division team as a reserve on June 9. He replaces infielder Mott Hyde, who was promoted to High-A. Burlington Bees infielder Andrew Daniel reportedly will be the Western Division’s starting second baseman.

***Peoria Chiefs RHP Robby Rowland was added to the Western Division team on June 15. He replaces RHP Austin Chrismon, who was promoted to High-A.

****Leal was placed on the disabled list June 18. Quad Cities River Bandits catcher/first baseman Jamie Ritchie was named his replacement on June 20.

This entry was posted in 2015 All-Star Game, Beloit Snappers, Bowling Green Hot Rods, Burlington Bees, Cedar Rapids Kernels, Clinton LumberKings, Dayton Dragons, Fort Wayne TinCaps, Great Lakes Loons, Kane County Cougars, Lake County Captains, Lansing Lugnuts, Midwest League, Peoria Chiefs, Quad Cities River Bandits, South Bend Silver Hawks, West Michigan Whitecaps, Wisconsin Timber Rattlers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Midwest League All-Star Game rosters released

  1. Sorry for the oversight! I’ve amended my post accordingly.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s