Loons and Dodgers extend affiliation through 2016

The Great Lakes Loons announced this morning that their affiliation with the Los Angeles Dodgers has been extended through the 2016 season.

The Loons have been affiliated with the Dodgers since their inaugural season in 2007.

Besides the Loons, the Midwest League franchises that have player development contracts (PDCs) in place through 2016 or longer are the Bowling Green Hot Rods (Tampa Bay Rays), the Burlington Bees (Los Angeles Angels), the Cedar Rapids Kernels (Minnesota Twins), the Clinton LumberKings (Seattle Mariners), the Dayton Dragons (Cincinnati Reds), the Lake County Captains (Cleveland Indians), the Peoria Chiefs (St. Louis Cardinals), the Quad Cities River Bandits (Houston Astros), the West Michigan Whitecaps (Detroit Tigers) and the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers (Milwaukee Brewers).

That leaves the Beloit Snappers, the Fort Wayne TinCaps, the Kane County Cougars, the Lansing Lugnuts, and the South Bend Silver Hawks. Baseball America‘s affiliation tracker says the Lugnuts have renewed their PDC with the Toronto Blue Jays, but neither team has made an official announcement in that regard.

The status of the other four teams hinges on whether the Chicago Cubs decide to continue their affiliation with Kane County or move elsewhere (Fort Wayne or South Bend). You can read my thoughts about this situation in my last post.

Besides the Cubs, the other MLB teams currently without a Class-A affiliation are the Arizona Diamondbacks (most recently affiliated with South Bend), the Oakland Athletics (Beloit), and the San Diego Padres (Fort Wayne). The 14 MLB teams that weren’t in the Midwest League the past two seasons all have PDCs in place with South Atlantic League teams through at least 2016.

This entry was posted in Beloit Snappers, Bowling Green Hot Rods, Burlington Bees, Cedar Rapids Kernels, Clinton LumberKings, Dayton Dragons, Fort Wayne TinCaps, Great Lakes Loons, Kane County Cougars, Lake County Captains, Lansing Lugnuts, Midwest League, Peoria Chiefs, Quad Cities River Bandits, South Atlantic League, South Bend Silver Hawks, West Michigan Whitecaps, Wisconsin Timber Rattlers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s