Cabrera wins second consecutive AL MVP award

New York Yankees great Yogi Berra famously once said, “It’s deja vu all over again.”

That could be said about this year’s American League Most Valuable Player Award, which Detroit Tigers 3B Miguel Cabrera won with Los Angeles Angels OF Mike Trout finishing second for the second consecutive year.

The only other time two American League players finished 1-2 in back-to-back MVP elections was when Berra’s teammates Roger Maris and Mickey Mantle did it in 1960-61. Cabrera also is the first back-to-back AL MVP since Chicago White Sox slugger Frank Thomas was in 1993-94.

Cabrera batted .348 with 44 HR, 137 RBI, 3 SB and 103 runs. Trout batted .323 with 27 HR, 97 RBI, 33 SB and 109 runs.

Both players are former Midwest Leaguers. Cabrera batted .268 with 7 HR and 66 RBI in 110 games with the 2001 Kane County Cougars. Trout batted .362 with 6 HR, 39 RBI and 45 SB in 81 games with the 2010 Cedar Rapids Kernels. Both were 18 years old when they played in the MWL.

Pittsburgh Pirates CF Andrew McCutchen won the National League MVP Award by a landslide, receiving 28 of 30 first-place votes. He is the first Pirates player to win the award since Barry Bonds did in 1992.

St. Louis Cardinals C Yadier Molina received the other two first-place votes, both from Cardinals beat writers. He batted .280 with 7 HR and 50 RBI in 112 games with the 2002 Peoria Chiefs.

This entry was posted in Cedar Rapids Kernels, Kane County Cougars, Midwest League, Peoria Chiefs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s