Timber Rattlers beat TinCaps 4-2 to win MWL Championship

The Wisconsin Timber Rattlers pose with the championship flag and trophy they won.

The Wisconsin Timber Rattlers beat the Fort Wayne TinCaps 4-2 in Game 4 to become this year’s Midwest League champions.

The big hit came off the bat of Nick Ramirez, who batted .310 this postseason. His two-run double in the top of the 7th inning broke a 2-2 tie that had been in effect since the bottom of the 3rd inning.

Wisconsin Timber Rattlers 1B Nick Ramirez swings at a pitch during the 1st inning of Game 4.

The Timber Rattlers also were the first to score, when Brandon Macias and Chadwin Stang hit back-to-back doubles to lead off the game. They added a run in the 2nd on a solo homer by Max Walla.

Wisconsin Timber Rattlers RF Max Walla rounds 3rd base after clubbing a solo homer in the 2nd inning.

The TinCaps scored their two runs in the bottom of the 3rd inning, on an RBI double by Yeison Asencio and a sac fly by Travis Whitmore.

Fort Wayne TinCaps DH Travis Whitmore bats in the bottom of the 1st inning.

Timber Rattlers RP Brent Suter worked a 1-2-3 bottom of the 9th to finish off the TinCaps, ending with back-to-back strikeouts of Whitmore and Lee Orr.

The Wisconsin Timber Rattlers celebrate their big win.

This is the first Midwest League title for the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers. The franchise, however, won eight titles as the Appleton Foxes, in 1964, 1966, 1967, 1969, 1978, 1982, 1983 and 1984. The Foxes were rebranded as the Timber Rattlers in 1995, coinciding with the opening of Fox Cities Stadium. The Appleton ballpark will be renovated during the offseason.

This entry was posted in 2012 Playoffs, Fort Wayne TinCaps, Midwest League, Wisconsin Timber Rattlers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s